Berube, Monarchs Celebrate 100th Franchise Shutout


The 23-7-1-1 Eastern Conference leading Manchester Monarchs ended the first part of the 2014-15 season with a New Years Eve 4-0 win last night, at the Verizon Wireless Arena, in Manchester New Hampshire. Goaltender Jean-Francois Berube got the win, and his sixth shutout of his American Hockey League career, but more importantly,  helped the Monarchs earn the100th shutout in franchise history, dating back to when the team came to the New England city in 2001. Berube made 33 saves, beating the 12-15-5-1 St. John’s IceCaps, the top minor league affiliate of the National Hockey League’s Winnipeg Jets

The Los Angeles Kings have been one of the better teams in recent years, and have certainly had their share of Stanley Cup Playoffs success. Most if not all of the credit, may in fact go back to the “master-mind” efforts of General Manger Dean Lombardi, and the unseen process of scouting players of tomorrow. Since April of 2006, the Kings GM has been part of the scouting efforts to land and develop some of the best NHL prospects that the next generation has to offer. A majority of the Kings success can also be credited to the depth in the crease, and the tight relationships aspiring NHL prospects  have with goaltending coach Bill Ranford with the NHL club, and goaltending consultant Kim Dillabaugh’s efforts in Manchester. Since the 2009-10 season, the Kings have been ranked in the top-ten in goals against in the NHL, and in the AHL, the top affiliate Monarchs have also been at the top of the league in keeping the puck out of the net.

Below are all of the Monarchs goaltenders in Franchise History that have contributed efforts in this tremendous organizational milestone:

(1.) Adam Hauser 15  (2.) Jonathan Bernier 14 (3.) Martin Jones 12 (4.) Travis Scott 10 (5.) Mathieu Garon 8 (6.) Jeff Zatkoff 8 (7.) Jason Labarbera 7 (8.) Jean-Francois Berube 6 (9.) Barry Brust 4 (10.) Mathieu Chouinard 4 (11.) Daniel Taylor 4 (12.) Jonathan Quick 3 (13.) Marcel Cousineau 1 (14.) Erik Ersberg 1 (15.) Yutaka Fukufugi 1 (16. Milan Hniliucka 1 (17.) Cristobal Huet 1