BC Captures Fourth Straight Beanpot


This year’s crop of Boston College seniors became the first group to win four Beanpot titles when the Eagles defeated Northeastern 6-3 on February 11, capturing the college’s 18th title.

Senior Steven Whitney and sophomore Johnny Gaudreau had three points each in the victory for Boston College, but it was Northeastern’s Kevin Roy who earned the honor of tournament MVP. Roy, a freshman, had five goals in two games, including a pair of goals in the championship match.

After a scoreless first half of the game, BC junior Bill Arnold scored his eleventh goal of the season to open the scoring and give the Eagles a 1-0 lead.

Just over a minute later, Gaudreau scored his first goal of the night, unassisted, to further BC’s lead to two goals.

It was Northeastern’s turn to score next, as Roy tallied his first goal of the night and 16th of the season with just under five minutes remaining in the middle frame.

Time went on, and the Eagles would add a pair of goals in 1:22 near the end of the second period. Junior Patrick Brown scored at the 18:37 mark before Whitney made the score 4-1 just before the period came to a close.

Roy scored his second of the night just eleven seconds into the third period to bring Northeastern back into the game, followed less than four minutes later by a power-play goal from junior Braden Pimm to cut the lead to one.

Once again, it was Johnny Gaudreau’s turn to make his mark, scoring at the 14:37 mark to give BC a 5-3 lead. Pat Mullane tapped in the empty netter with 1:28 remaining in regulation to seal the victory and the college’s 18th Beanpot victory.

BC netminder Parker Milner stopped 20 of 23 shots faced in the win and was awarded the Eberly Award for the tournament, with a .907 save percentage overall.

Overall, Boston College went 38-22 on faceoffs and 1-for-4 on the power play. They also outshot Northwestern, 30-23.