Hobey Hat Trick Announced


No big surprises here, as North Dakota’s Matt Frattin, Miami’s Andy Miele and Boston College’s Cam Atkinson are the three finalists for this year’s Hobey Baker award. It seems like a two horse race between Frattin and Miele given their impressive stats all year, and voters looking for a tiebreaker probably got one last weekend when Frattin had two points over the weekend to help North Dakota get to the Frozen Four, while Miele’s RedHawks were upset in their first round game by New Hampshire.

Frattin is also the only one still playing college hockey, as Miele, a free agent, will probably be signing with someone sooner rather than later, and Atkinson is skipping his final year at BC to sign with Columbus.