ECAC Awards


Time to rev the awards engine back to full speed. Today, we head East to ECAC hockey. In what was a very good year for the league, Yale, Cornell and Princeton all made the NCAA Tournament, and St. Lawrence just missed by the skin of their teeth. In the preseason we ranked both Princeton and Cornell, but totally missed the boat on Yale (who didn’t?) and St. Lawrence.

Getting the easiest award out of the way right away, our ECAC coach of the year is Yale’s Keith Allain. Allain led the Bulldogs to the ECAC regular season and tournament titles, with a record of 24-8-2 (15-5-2 in conference). They were the highest scoring team in ECAC hockey at 3.32 goals pergame, and 9th nationally in that department. The Bulldogs also had the nation’s best penalty kill, a testament to Coach Allain’s ability to teach them discipline and fundamentals.

Our player of the year award was a bit more difficult. At midseason it looked like Ben Scrivens had it on lockdown, but Zane Kalemba took him over. The Princeton goalie had a .932 save percentage to lead the conference in that department. But our conference player of the year is Colgate’s David McIntyre. The Junior was 2nd in the conference in goals and 3rd in points, while playing less games than the top two players in those departments. McIntyre had 21 goals on a team that scored just 89 on the season. That is nearly 25% of the goal scoring. And McIntyre had 43 points, meaning he had a hand in nearly half of his teams goals. That is value. The rest of the first team and the second team are after the jump

ECAC Hockey 1st Team

F- David McIntyre, Colgate

F- Bryan Leitch, Quinnipiac

F- David Marshall, Quinnipiac

D- Zack Miscovic, St. Lawrence

D- Jody Pederson, Princeton

G- Zane Kalemba, Princeton

ECAC Hockey 2nd Team

F- Riley Nash, Cornell

F- Sean Backman, Yale

F- Mark Arcobello, Yale

D- Alex Biega, Harvard

D- Shawn Fensel, St. Lawrence

G- Ben Scrivens, Cornell