Atlantic Hockey Awards


We lead off awards season with Atlantic Hockey. The conference was led by Air Force and RIT for much of the season, but Mercyhurst made quite a charge, finishing 3rd in the league and was among the national leaders in scoring for much of the season.

Air Force forward Jacques Lamoureux put up fantastic numbers, leading the conference in scoring, and is among the national leaders in scoring. He is a legitimate Hobey candidate. I don’t think he will pull an Eric Ehn and get into the top 3, but he’ll be a top 10 candidate for sure. For that, Lamoureux is my choice for Atlantic Hockey player of the year.

Our coach of the year is Wayne Wilson at RIT. After a bit of a rocky start coupled with a high flying start for Air Force, many people had written everyone else off and were ready to hand Atlantic Hockey’s bid to Air Force. But RIT came back and ended up tying for the league title. Coach Wilson built a team around a true team concept and that is definitely something to be commended.

Dave Kostuch from Canisius is our Freshman of the year. Kostuch had 21 goals to lead Atlantic Hockey Freshmen.

Our all-Atlantic Hockey team:

G- Ryan Zapolski, Mercyhurst

D- Greg Flynn, Air Force

D- Carl Hudson, Canisius

F- Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force

F- Steve Cameron, Mercyhurst

F- Matt Pierce, Mercyhurst